Commentary / personal

Snitches Get Stitches

Today I was going to post a blog about the goals I’ve set for 2017, but when you’re morning starts out with a trip to the ER, things change.

I slipped and fell this morning near the end of my shower. I ended up falling kind of sideways and hitting my chin on the edge of my wall mount sink, which tore it off the wall and scared the bajeezus out of my cat (I felt so much worse for him than I did for myself). It bled and there was a big cut on my chin but my teeth were fine (which I was super worried about), and I was only experiencing a tiny bit of pain. But the cut warranted the ER trip, and it wasn’t even 6 o’clock.

I always joke about how I’m going to die in the shower. So I guess this was an incident of “be careful what you wish for”. Maybe talking about death so nonchalantly should really be taboo for me, like it is for most other people. It was a little scary though, having that thought of well this is it cross my mind as my chin banged against the porcelain sink, but it wasn’t it.

But then again, looking back at last week, thinking about my goals, and planning all the things I’d like to do in the future, maybe I should be a little more weary of the lurking of death. It could happen any moment. And it could. I don’t think it will, I’m usually pretty careful about things, but maybe I should be a little more careful in the shower. I know I have potential to do a lot of great things in my life, change things, be important, and I don’t want to lose out on that because of some stupid shower accident.

So I’ll stop talking about how I’m going to die, because even in jest, my death plans don’t seem to be serving me well. And the fear of being found dead and naked in my apartment is really unsettling.

Be safe. ♥M

 

Leave a Reply

